First Vice-Chair: Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.

Kambrell H. Garvin Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson John R. McCravy, III Josiah Magnuson Travis A. Moore Russell L. Ott Michael F. Rivers, Sr Chris Wooten

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Kimberly O. Johnson Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Adam M. Morgan Melissa Lackey Oremus Marvin R. Pendarvis John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

William M. "Bill" Hixon

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Gil Gatch

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

Legislative Oversight Committee

April 8, 2021 1:00 p.m., or 30 minutes after adjournment of the House, whichever is later Blatt Room 110

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. Pursuant to Committee Rule 3.1, the public-input meeting of the House Legislative Oversight Committee was called to order by Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton. All members of the Committee were present for all or a portion of the meeting, except Representative Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers, Representative William M. "Bill" Hixon, and Representative Tommy M. Stringer.

Minutes

I. Representative Josiah Magnuson, moved to approve the minutes from the meeting on December 2, 2020. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Rep. Magnuson's motion to approve the December 2, 2020 meeting minutes.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Garvin	√		
Rep. Gatch	√		
Rep. Henderson-Meyers			Not Present
Rep. Hixon			Not Present
Rep. Jefferson	✓		
Rep. J. Johnson			Not Voting
Rep. K.O. Johnson	✓		
Rep. Magnuson	✓		
Rep. McCravy	✓		
Rep. McGinnis	✓		
Rep. Morgan	✓		
Rep. Moore			Not Voting
Rep. Newton	✓		
Rep. Oremus	✓		
Rep. Ott			Not Voting
Rep. Pendarvis	✓		
Rep. Rivers	✓		
Rep. Stringer			Not Present
Rep. West	✓		
Rep. Wooten	✓		

Public Input

- I. Chairman Newton stated that the purpose of this meeting was to hear public testimony regarding the Attorney General's Office, Department on Aging, Department of Commerce, Jobs-Economic Development Authority, Arts Commission, Department of Health and Human Services, Ethics Commission, State Accident Fund, and the State Library.
- II. Members of the public provided testimony about the above agencies. Constituent testimony and Committee minutes summarizing testimony are not the comments or expression of the House Legislative Oversight Committee, any of its Subcommittees, the House of Representatives, or any of these entities staff.

Before each person testifies, Chairman Weston Newton administered an oath to the person. Vice-Chairman Joseph Jefferson presided over the meeting at approximately 3:00 p.m., when Chairman Newton had to leave for another commitment. Below are the names of each person who testified

and the time in the archived video at which the testimony begins. The testimony is grouped by agency. Before hearing the public testimony of the agencies under study, Chairman Newton stated that a constituent had requested to speak to the Committee about the State Election Commission maintenance of the active voter rolls.

State Election Commission

Mrs. Laurie Zapp (00:13:49) – also provided written materials

Ms. Marci Andino - Director of the State Election Commission (00:38:57)

Department on Aging

Ms Connie Munn, Director - Department on Aging (01:09:34)

Ms. Cheryll Woods-Flowers – provided written materials

Mr. Mark Smith – provided written materials

Mr. Tim Womack – provided written materials

Ms. Cheryl J. Dye, Ph.D. – provided written materials

Attorney General's Office

Mr. Skip Hoagland (01:13:41) also provided written materials

Mr. Barry Bernstein - Deputy Attorney General (01:26:23)

Clarence Jenkins – provided written materials

State Ethics Commission

Ms. Megan Walker - Executive Director (01:31:46)

Mr. Skip Hoagland (01:13:41) – included with this testimony on the Attorney General's Office

State Library

Ms. Nina Spinelli (01:35:20)

Ms. Leesa Aiken – Director of the State Library (01:41:45)

Ms. Kristen Setzler Simensen - provided written materials

Mr. Jimmie Epling – provided written materials

Ms. Tamara Cox – provided written materials

Ms. Shannon Cook – provided written materials

Ms. Mary Jo Dawson – provided written materials

Ms. Martha Murtiashaw – provided written materials

Department of Health and Human Services

Dr. Ira Williams (01:43:35) – also provided written materials

Mr. Clark Phillip – Acting Director (01:51:36)

State Accident Fund

Mr. Jay Bruner (01:54:10) – also provided written materials

Ms. Erin Farthing - Acting Director and Chief Counsel (01:59:09)

Mr. Matthew Hansford – Deputy Director (02:07:48)

Jobs-Economic Development Authority

Mr. William Condon - Deputy Counsel- Treasurer's Office (02:36:30) – also provided written materials

Ms. Mary Lou Merkt (02:48:59)

Ms. Kathy Ligon (02:53:00)

Mr. Harry Huntley – Executive Director (2:56:17)

Mr. Danny Black (03:11:00)

Mr. Tim Rogers (03:16:42)

Ms. Karen Manning – Chief Counsel – Dept. of Commerce (03:21:53)

Mr. Clarence Jenkins – provided written materials

Arts Commission

Ms. Meisha Whitlock (01:32:11) – also provided written materials

Mr. Matt Mardell (03:25:40)

Ms. Jennifer Jenkins (03:29:18)

Ms. Melissa Early (03:33:35)

Ms. Betsy Chapman (03:38:19)

Mr. David Platt (03:41:29)

Mr. Harold Hatcher – provided written materials

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.